Psalm 139.1-24 – November 6, 2020

Psalm 139.1-24

You have searched me, Lord,
and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
you, Lord, know it completely.
You hem me in behind and before,
and you lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.

23 Search me, God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

 (Psalm 139:1–6, 23-24, NIV)

Is there another passage in scripture that better communicate the intimacy of God’s knowledge of you? Feeling left out and all alone? This is the psalm for you!

Thought Questions:

Do you think of God searching you as a positive or negative thing? Why do you feel this is the case?

In what ways do you see people seeking to be fully known? In what ways do they look to their relationship with God to provide this, versus a relationship with other people or things?

Pray that God will search you today and as he does, respond to his prompting.

Leave a comment